Open Mixture-of-Experts models share a single concept but disagree on almost every routing detail. Expert counts range from 8 to 384. Top-k values span from 1 to 8. Some architectures keep an always-on shared expert; others drop it completely.
In this article
- TL;DR
- How do open MoE models route tokens?
- MoE routing comparison table (November 2026)
- How does DeepSeek-V3 routing work?
- What changed in DeepSeek-V4 routing?
- How many experts does Qwen3 MoE use?
- How does Llama 4 Maverick routing differ?
- How does gpt-oss route tokens?
- Why do Kimi K2 and GLM-4.5 look like DeepSeek-V3?
TL;DR
- Scale: The dataset covers 10 models, from Qwen3.6-35B-A3B (35B total, 3B active) to DeepSeek-V4-Pro (1.6T total, 49B active).
- Hardware: gpt-oss-120b fits on one 80 GB GPU using MXFP4 precision; DeepSeek-V4-Pro and Kimi K2 require multi-GPU expert parallelism.
- Efficiency: Routed sparsity varies 4x between Mixtral (8 experts, top-2) and Llama 4 Maverick (128 experts, top-1).
- Efficiency gain: Kimi K2 found that sparsity 48 required 1.69x fewer FLOPs than sparsity 8 to achieve equal validation loss.
- Missing data: Llama 4 Maverick and gpt-oss do not publish their gating or balancing methods in config.json.
- Observation: Configs make routing fully auditable. Names like “17B active” hide very different routers.
How do open MoE models route tokens?
Every model below uses token-choice routing: each token selects its own experts. They differ on five knobs. These are expert count, experts per token, shared experts, the scoring function and the load-balancing method. The table lists each knob per model.
MoE routing comparison table (November 2026)
| Model | Total / active params | Routed experts | Top-k | Shared experts | Gating | Load balancing |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mixtral 8x7B | 47B / 13B | 8 | 2 | 0 | Softmax over top-k | Aux loss, coef 0.02 (config) |
| gpt-oss-120b | 117B / 5.1B | 128 | 4 | 0 | Softmax over selected | Not disclosed |
| Qwen3-235B-A22B | 235B / 22B | 128 | 8 | 0 | Softmax, top-k normalized | Global-batch aux loss, coef 0.001 |
| Qwen3.6-35B-A3B | 35B / 3B | 256 | 8 | 1 | Not disclosed | Aux loss, coef 0.001 (config) |
| Llama 4 Maverick | 400B / 17B | 128 | 1 | 1 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed |
| DeepSeek-V3 | 671B / 37B | 256 | 8 | 1 | Sigmoid | Aux-loss-free bias (noaux_tc) |
| DeepSeek-V4-Pro | 1.6T / 49B | 384 | 6 | 1 | sqrtsoftplus | noaux_tc; hash routing in 3 layers |
| DeepSeek-V4-Flash | 284B / 13B | 256 | 6 | 1 | sqrtsoftplus | noaux_tc; hash routing in 3 layers |
| Kimi K2 | 1.04T / 32B | 384 | 8 | 1 | Sigmoid | noaux_tc + sequence aux, alpha 0.001 |
| GLM-4.5 | 355B / 32B | 160 | 8 | 1 | Sigmoid | Loss-free balance routing |
Sources: each model’s Hugging Face config.json, model card or technical report, verified November 7, 2026. Configs and cards for Qwen3.6 and Llama 4 omit gating. gpt-oss and Llama 4 omit the balancing method.
How does DeepSeek-V3 routing work?
DeepSeek-V3 scores 256 routed experts with a sigmoid, then normalizes the selected scores. A per-expert bias steers the top-8 selection without touching the mixing weights. Experts sit in 8 groups, and the router keeps 4 groups first. Each token reaches at most 4 nodes, according to the technical report. One shared expert runs for every token.
What changed in DeepSeek-V4 routing?
DeepSeek-V4 raises Pro to 384 routed experts but lowers top-k from 8 to 6. The score function becomes sqrtsoftplus. The first 3 MoE layers use hash routing, a fixed token-to-expert map. Bias-based noaux_tc balancing stays.
How many experts does Qwen3 MoE use?
Both original Qwen3 MoE models use 128 experts and route each token to 8. Qwen3 dropped the shared experts of Qwen2.5-MoE and adopted a global-batch balancing loss. Qwen3.6-35B-A3B changes course: 256 experts, 8 routed plus 1 shared, per its model card.
How does Llama 4 Maverick routing differ?
Llama 4 Maverick alternates dense and MoE layers. In each MoE layer, a token goes to 1 shared expert and 1 of 128 routed experts. That top-1 design echoes the Switch Transformer. It keeps 17B active parameters despite 400B in total.
How does gpt-oss route tokens?
gpt-oss-120b uses a linear router over 128 experts and keeps the top 4. Its config lists no shared expert. Its MoE weights ship in MXFP4, which lets the 117B model fit on a single 80 GB GPU.
Why do Kimi K2 and GLM-4.5 look like DeepSeek-V3?
Kimi K2 ships with the DeepseekV3ForCausalLM architecture class and the noaux_tc router. It raises routed experts to 384 at the same top-8. The Kimi K2 report found that higher sparsity lowered loss at fixed active compute. GLM-4.5 chose 160 experts and more layers instead, favouring depth over width.



